Three champs propel Liberty North boys to Lee’s Summit North Invite title

Thanks to three individual champions, the Liberty North boys wrestling team held off the host team Saturday to win the Lee’s Summit North Invitational. 

Liberty North left the tournament with a trio of champions from their respective weight classes, helping the Eagles score 190.5 team points for the victory.

Lee’s Summit North had a single champion at its home tournament. However, Cameron led all teams with four champions, which was almost enough for the Dragons to finish second. They fell two points shy of LSN, falling 171 to 169. 

Rounding out the top 10 team scores were Raymore-Peculiar (147.5), Odessa (143), Oak Park (120.5), Maize South (108), Pittsburg (98.5), Oak Grove (62) and Kansas City-Turner (52).

Liberty North won two of the three lightweight divisions. Michael Domino won three matches by fall before earning the 113-pound championship by medial forfeit over Caleb Husch of Cameron.

James Lovely went 7-0 on the weekend at 120 pounds. He won three matches by fall, one by tech fall and two by major decision before winning the title by a 7-3 decision over Baden Rucker of Odessa.

The Eagles’ final champion was Dylan Alft at 145 pounds. Alft went 7-0 with a pair of byes. He pinned two opponents after winning by tech fall to start the day. In the semifinal and finals, Alft won by major decision, 8-0 and 10-2, respectively. He defeated LSN’s Trey Robinson in the finals.

Weight Class Champions:

106Dylan Pratt, Cameron

113 – Michael Domino, Liberty North

120 – James Lovelady, Liberty North

126 – Tanner Riley, Cameron

132 – Ryan McNeel, Lee’s Summit North

138 – Brecken Gates, Cameron

145 – Dylan Alft, Liberty North

152 – Shon Badder, Odessa

160 – Kanen Huff, Raymore-Peculiar

170 – Matt Smith, Pittsburg

182 – Paul Hernandez, Oak Park

195 – Paul Viena, Cameron

220 – Gabriel Cornett, Kansas City-Turner

285 -Caleb Groff, Oak Grove

Liberty North also had six wrestlers place in the top four. Finishing runner-up in their weight classes were Rex Miller (170) and Trevor Thorn (182). Miller finished 5-2 with a pair of losses to Pittsburg’s Matt Smith. Thorn went 6-1, losing the title by fall near the end of the third period.

James Stockard (220) placed third for the Eagles. He finished 5-2 on the weekend. Drew Perry (126), Kaden Sullivan (132) and Elmotie Williams (285) finished fourth in their weight classes.

Lee’s Summit North was led by its lone champ. Ryan McNeel finished the weekend with a 7-0 record at 132 pounds. He capped off the tournament with a first-round pin in the finals to beat Jase Todd of Odessa.

The Broncos had four other wrestlers reach the finals, but all four finished runner-up at their respective weight class. They were Charlie Dykes (113), Robinson (145), Hank Natali (220) and Trevor Taylor (285).

Nine of the 11 Cameron wrestlers in the tournament placed in the top five of their weight class, but the Dragons had several empty classes. However, they had four champions.

Dylan Pratt won the 106-pound championship by a 4-2 decision over Landon Scarborough of Odessa, capping his day with a 6-0 record. Tanner Riley finished the weekend 7-0 after defeated Oak Park’s Jamison Tunstill 2-0 in the 126 finals.

Brecken Gates brought home gold at 138 for Cameron. He went 7-0, winning the championship match by a 9-4 decision over Pittsburg’s Corbin McIntier. The Dragons’ final champion was Paul Viena at 195 pounds. Viena pinned Jaquan Augustin of Pittsburg in the finals to go 7-0 at the tournament.

The other tournament champions were Shon Badder of Odessa (152), Kanen Huff of Ray-Pec (160), Matt Smith (170), Paul Hernandez (182), Gabriel Cornett of Turner (220) and Caleb Groff of Oak Grove (285). 

– story by Jimmy Gillispie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: